The Flag of India


Flag of India

India's flag was adopted on July 22, 1947, after India became independent from Great Britain.

India's flag is a horizontal tricolour in equal proportion of deep saffron (orange) on the top, white in the middle and dark green at the bottom.

Each colour represents something different:

Saffron represents stands for courage and sacrifice

White represents peace, unity and truth.

Green stands for faith and fertility.

The blue symbolizes the sky and the ocean.

Dharma Chakra

In the center of the white band is a blue wheel with 24 spokes. This is the Dharma Chakra (or "Wheel of Law") , the wheel of law in the Sarnath Lion Capital. The Chakra represents the continuing progress of the nation and the importance of justice in life. This center symbol or the 'CHAKRA',  is a Buddhist symbol dating back to 200th century BC.




last pagenext page

back to the top
email© Copyright - please read
All the materials on these pages are free for homework and classroom use only. You may not redistribute, sell or place the content of this page on any other website or blog without written permission from the author Mandy Barrow.

©Copyright Mandy Barrow 2013

Follow me on Twitter @mbarrow

Woodlands Junior School, Hunt Road Tonbridge Kent TN10 4BB UK